Eshani Lokusooriya returns to T20 squad

India Tour of Sri Lanka 2018


Sri Lanka Cricket has named a 15-member squad for the team’s 3-match Women’s T20I series against India set to commence on the 19th.

>>Women’s Cricket<<

Eshani Lokusooriya, once a mainstay in the Lankan line-up, has made her way back into the squad after more than a year, with her last game coming during the Women’s World Cup in 2017. The 34-year-old is a hard-hitting batter and a useful medium pace bowler, and has been a matchwinner for the team in the past.

Sri Lanka handed thrashing in 1st Women’s Championship ODI against India

Sri Lanka’s 1st Women’s Championship ODI against India lasted exactly 55 overs in total as the visitors claimed a comfortable…

Sri Lanka have also opted to bring in top order batter Yasoda Mendis in place of Nipuni Hansika and wicketkeeper Rebecca Vandort at the expense of Prasadini Weerakkody. Former skipper Inoka Ranaweera has also missed out on the squad after an ordinary performance during the 3 ODIs.

Sri Lanka’s last outing in the T20 format was a forgettable one as they lost to Thailand at the Asia Cup in June 2018 to be knocked out of the championship with 2 wins and 3 losses.

Sri Lanka will take confidence from the fact that they beat India in the 3rd ODI, gunning down their biggest runchase to claim only their 2nd win against India.

Read: Chamari Atapattu ton guides Sri Lanka’s record chase

Once again, the onus will be on Skipper Chamari Atapattu with the bat, while experienced campaigners Sripali Weerakkody and Shashikala Siriwardene will be expected to provide some good performances with both bat and ball.

Squad – Chamari Atapattu ©, Yasoda Mendis, Hasini Perera, Shashikala Siriwardena, Eshani Lokusooriya, Nilakshi De Silva, Ama Kanchana, Rebeca Vandort, Kaveesha Dilhari, Sripali Weerakkody, Sugandika Kumari, Anushka Sanjeewani, Udeshika Prabodhini, Imalka Mendis, Dilani Manodara