Batsman Dhananjaya De Silva has been named as the Captain of Sri Lanka ‘A’ team to face England Lions starting on 17th February.

Dhananjaya De Silva 1De Silva made only 125 runs in the recent Test series against South Africa at 20.83 while averaging 12.20 and 16.00 in T20Is and ODIs respectively. After being axed from the T20I squad against Australia, De Silva will look to regain his form through this series.

Dimuth Karunarathne who managed only 128 runs against the Proteas have been given an opportunity to get some runs behind his back through this two four-day encounters. Prolific run-getters from Ragama CC, Udara Jayasundera and Roshene Silva have also been added to the 15-man squad while Sandun Weerakkody who debuted in the ODI series against South Africa have been named as the wicket-keeper of the side.

Ron Chandragupta
Ron Chandragupta

Youngsters, Charith Asalanka and Ron Chandragupta will be the remaining batsmen in the squad which comprises four seamers in Lahiru Gamage, Kasun Rajitha, Kasun Madushanka and Asitha Fernando. Experienced Dilruwan Perera will be leading spin contingent along with left-arm spinners, Amila Aponsoa and Malinda Pushpakumara while leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay has also been named in the squad.

The first four-day match will be played on 17th February at Pallekelle followed by the second unofficial Test in Dambulla starting on 24th February.

Sri Lanka ‘A’ squad 

Dhananjaya de Silva (Captain), Dimuth Karaunarathna, Udara Jayasundara, Sandun Weerakkody (WK), Charith Asalanka, Roshene Silva, Lahiru Gamage, Kasun Rajitha, Ron Chandraguptha, Kasun Madushanka, Asitha Fernando, Dilruwan Perera, Amila Aponso, Jeffrey Vandersay, Malinda Pushpakumara.

Officials – Team Manager –  Jerry Woutersz, Head Coach – Avishka Gunawardena, Fast Bowling Coach -Nuwan Zoysa (1st Test Match only),  Chaminda Vaas (Last three ODI’s), Spin Bowling Coach – Piyal Wijethunga,  Fielding Coach – Nuwan Senevirathne, Physiotherapist – Ranjith Nanayakkarawasam, Masseur – Rohan Wijeweera, Trainer – Dilshan Fonseka, Analyst – G G T Niroshan