CSA announce dates for Sri Lanka women’s tour of South Africa


Cricket South Africa have announced the dates for Sri Lanka women’s tour of South Africa, which will feature a three-match T20I series and three-match ICC Women’s Championship ODI series.

Australia survive nerves to lift fourth WT20 title

Australia were far from at their usual high standards in the field..

The T20Is are set to be televised, and the tour follows on from the showdown between the two sides at the ICC World T20, which saw the Proteas triumph in a seven-wicket victory, led by a superb bowling performance from Shabnim Ismail. Nevertheless, both sides crashed out in the group-stages.

CSA Chief Executive Thabang Moroe is hopeful that the Proteas can bounce back from a disappointing tournament.

Read: Sri Lanka’s batting was the ‘Achilles Heal’ in their campaign

“This is a very important tour on two fronts,” said Moroe. “The ODI Series gives us another opportunity to clinch direct qualification for the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2021 via a top four finish in the ICC Women’s Championship following our shared series in our most recent series against the Windies.

“The T20 Series forms a critical component in giving our women’s team their rightful place on the global map as they will share a live TV platform with our Proteas men’s team and play at some of our premier international grounds.

Read More: Prabodini-Weerakkody strikes prove in-vain against South Africa

“Meaningful gender equality is a very important part of CSA’s vision in making the game accessible to all and enabling all our players to live their dreams.”

Sri Lanka Tour to South Africa Match Schedule

T20I Series
1 February – 1st T20I (Cape Town)
3 February – 2nd T20I (Johannesburg)
6 February – 3rd T20I (Centurion)

ICC Women’s Championship ODI series
9 February – Warm Up Match, TBC v Sri Lanka (Potchefstroom)
11 February – 1st ODI (Potchefstroom)
14 February – 2nd ODI (Potchefstroom)
17 February – 3rd ODI (Potchefstroom)