Colombo register second consecutive win in a thrilling contest

SLC T20 League 2018


The Colombo team recorded the second consecutive win in the SLC T20 League 2018 as they defeated Kandy in a nail-biting encounter which was worked off today at R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium.

Colombo skipper Dinesh Chandimal won the toss and had no hesitation to bat first on a batting friendly surface. After been beaten in the last game, Kandy made two changes to their lineup bringing in 19-year old Nipun Ransika and Lahiru Gamage for Sachith Pathirana and Dhananjaya Lakshan.

Read: Ashan Priyanjan shines as Dambulla win

Upul Tharanga and Mahela Udawatte opened the innings for Colombo and got off to a flying start as they put on a 58-run partnership for the first wicket in 7.1 overs. However, off spinner Charith Asalanka dismissed both Mahela Udawatte and Dinesh Chandimal within two overs to slow down the progress made by the Colombo batsmen.

Read : SLC T20 League 2018 squads finalized

Left handed striker Shehan Jayasuriya joined Upul Tharanga at the crease when the score was 70 for 2 and built a 60-run partnership for the third wicket when the latter was dismissed by Dasun Shanaka for 62 runs. Upul Tharanga’s knock of 62 runs came off 47 balls at a strike rate of 131 including 7 fours and 2 sixes.

Shehan Jayasuriya continued his stroke making as he smashed 63 runs off 36 balls to guide his side to post a massive total of 188 runs in the allotted 20 overs. During his blistering innings, Jayasuriya stroked 8 fours and 2 sixes at a strike rate of 175. In the bowling department, off spinner Charith Asalanka and right arm seamer Lahiru Gamage picked up 2 wickets each for the Kandy team.

Read : Tharanga’s ton helps ‘Team Colombo’ to clinch SLC T20 Opener

Chasing 189 runs to win, Kandy got off to a brisk start as their openers Lahiru Thirimanne and Thakshiila de Silva put on 44 runs for the first wicket in 4.3 overs before the latter was bowled by Shehan Jayasuriya for 27 runs. Then, Bhanuka Rajapaksa joined Lahiru Thirimanne at the crease and built a valuable 55-run partnership for the second wicket before the former ran himself out for 28 runs in the 11th over.

Lahiru Thirimanne scored 50 runs off 36 balls including 5 fours and 2 sixes before being bowled by Shehan Jayasuriya when the score was 116 for 4. Skipper Dasun Shanka and Charith Asalanka added 53 runs for the fifth wicket and helped Kandy team to post 188 runs in the allotted 20 overs.

Photos: Launch of the SLC T20 League 2018

As the match was tied, super over contest was carried out to decide the winner. Jeewan Mendis bowled the super over for Colombo team while Lasith Malinga bowled the super over for Kandy team. Interestingly, both bowlers gave away only 5 runs in the super over. However, Colombo team won the match though the super over was tied as they scored most boundaries in the 20 over contest.


Full Scorecard

Team Colombo


(20 overs)


Team Kandy


(20 overs)

Colombo won by super over

Team Colombo’s Innings

Mahela Udawatha b C.Asalanka1516
Upul Tharanga c T.De Silva b D.Shanaka6247
Dinesh Chandimal c B.Rajapakshe b C.Asalanka86
Shehan Jayasuriya c & b L.Gamage6336
Chathuranga De Silva c & b L.Gamage2513
Jeewan Mendis not out00
Sammu Ashan not out72
8 (lb 1, w 7)
188/5 (20 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-58 (M Udawatte, 7.1 ov), 2-70 (D Chandimal, 9.1 ov), 3-130 (U Tharanga, 14.4 ov), 4-181 (C de Silva, 19.3 ov), 5-181 (S Jayasuriya, 19.4 ov)
Lasith Malinga40280 7.00
Lahiru Gamage40432 10.75
Nipun Ransika20260 13.00
Charith Asalanka40342 8.50
Malinda Pushpakumara1080 8.00
Chamika Karunaratne10160 16.00
Dasun Shanaka40321 8.00

Team Kandy’s Innings

Thikshila De Silva b S.Jayasuriya2716
Lahiru Thirimanne b S.Jayasuriya5036
Banuka Rajapakshe (runout) D.Chandimal2820
Sandun Weerakody st D.Chandimal b S.Jayasuriya810
Dasun Shanaka b J.Mendis3016
Charith Asalanka c A.Dananjaya b J.Mendis2215
Chamika Karunaratne not out125
Malinda Pushpakumara (runout) A.Dananjaya12
10 (lb 1, w 9)
188/7 (20 overs)
Fall of Wickets:
1-44 (T de Silva, 4.3 ov), 2-99 (B Rajapaksa, 10.2 ov), 3-115 (S Weerakkody, 13.3 ov), 4-116 (L Thirimanne, 13.5 ov), 5-169 (C Asalanka, 18.2 ov), 6-175 (D Shanaka, 18.5 ov), 7-188 (M Pushpakumara, 19.6 ov)
Shehan Jayasuriya40223 5.50
Asitha Fernando30520 17.33
Akila Dananjaya40410 10.25
Kamindu Mendis20150 7.50
Lahiru Madushanka30300 10.00
Sammu Ashan20140 7.00
Jeewan Mendis20132 6.50