Centuries for Yohan and Prasansana; Nishan Peiris takes 6-fer


Here’s a round up of the matches which started today (1st February) in the Plate Championship of the SLC Premier League. 

Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC v Burgher Recreation Club 

Yohan De Silva’s unbeaten 137 saved the day for Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC in their match against BRC at Moors grounds. After been asked to bat first, SL Ports were in all sorts when they lost 2 for 17.

Opening batsman De Silva and Ishan Rangana consolidated and added 66 runs for the 3rd wicket. After the loss of Rangana, the rest batters followed in a possession. De Silva however, was playing a lone hand for his side. H

is perseverance was rewarded with a brilliant century and BRC failed to see the back of him as he carried the bat through the innings, pushing the Ports Authority above 200 runs.

In response, at stumps, BRC were unscathed.

Sri Lanka Ports Authority CC 237 (79.3) Yohan de Silva 137*, Ishan Rangana 38, Maduka Liyanapathiranage 3/49, Duvindu Tillakaratne 2/21 


Burgher Recreation Club 37/0 (12.4

Badureliya CC v Ragama CC

Nishan Peiris’s of Ragama CC riveting spell restricted in-form Badureliya to 277 runs in their first innings at Bloomfield grounds. Badureliya won the toss and elected to bat first. In form skipper Alankara Asanka was the first to fall cheaply. Salinda Ushan also got himself in only to throw it away.

They lost wickets in a cluster which had them at 76 for 4. Pathum Madushanka and Denuwan Rajakaruna then got together to resurrect the innings. They added 75 for the 5th wicket. Rajakaruna missed out on the half-ton but, former Josephian skipper Madushanka went on to make a patient 76.

Thanks to Cameos down the order by Sachith Pathirana and Buddika Sanjeewa, Badureliya managed to post 277 runs. However, it was Peiris who took the limelight with 6-for, most importantly he was the one who came in and got rid of the all the top scorers whenever Badureliya were trying to get in top.

At stumps, Ragama were cruising with Janith Liyanage and Shehan Fernando firing all guns at the top.

Badureliya Cricket Club 277 (78.5) Pathum Madushanka 76, Denuwan Rajakaruna 44, Sachith Pathirana 42, Salinda Ushan 36, Buddika Sanjeewa 28, Nishan Pieris 6/88, Amila Aponso 3/62 


Ragama Cricket Club 60/0 (11) Janith Liyanage 30*, Shehan Fernando 30*

Negombo CC v Moors SC

Prasansana Jayamanne’s century helped Negombo CC go past 200 in their first innings against Moors at Colombo today. Negombo CC won the toss and elected to bat first.

After the early losses of, Lasith Croospulle and Shehan Jayasuriya, Jayamanne and Ashen Silva added 131 runs for the 3rd wicket.

The pair grinned for 49.5 overs for those runs. Silva was dismissed for 44 but, Jayamanne went on to make 104 off 249 deliveries. When he was dismissed, Negombo CC were 226 for 5. The last four wickets fell for just 11 runs which put them in trouble at stumps.

Negombo CC 242/9 (90) Prasanna Jayamanne 104, Ashen Silva 41, Ramesh Mendis 4/52