Home Cricket National Cricket Hard toil for Sri Lanka Emerging bowlers on day one

Hard toil for Sri Lanka Emerging bowlers on day one

Sri Lanka Emerging team tour of Bangladesh 2019 – 1st Unofficial Test – Day 01


Bangladesh Emerging team were in a strong position on 233/4 at the end of day 1 of the first unofficial Test match in the two-match ‘4-day’ series vs Sri Lanka Emerging team at the Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium, Khulna.

Bangladesh Emerging team (Ban-E) skipper Nazmul Hossain Shanto won the toss and decided to bat first and Sri Lanka Emerging team (SL-E) which is led by Charith Asalanka, fielded a strong XI which also included several players who took part in the One-Day leg of the tour where SL-E won 2-1. The players who sat out from the playing XI were Jehan Daniel, Mohammad Shiraz, Lahiru Udara, and Amila Aponso.

SL-E XI – Charith Asalanka (c), Sangeeth Cooray, Pathum Nissanka, Promod Maduwantha, Minod Bhanuka (w), Ashen Bandara, Asitha Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne, Ramesh Mendis, Nishan Peiris, Kalana Perera

Ban-E XI – Nazmul Hossain Shanto (c), Mohammed Saif Hassan, Naim Sheikh, Afif Hossain, Mahidul Islam Bhuiyan (w), Nayeem Hasan, Yeasin Arafat, Shafiqul Islam, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Tanvir Islam, Zakir Hasan

Ban-E openers couldn’t get on to a perfect start as former left-arm seamer from S. Thomas’ College, Kalana Perera struck in his 2nd over to remove the left-handed Mohammad Naim for just 9 runs. The centurion from the 3rd unofficial ODI Saif Hassan was tied down by Perera and Asitha Fernando with disciplined fast bowling without letting him free his arms before being runout for 18 off 94 balls.

Pathum guides SL-Emerging to a series win with an unbeaten ton

The telling partnership in the Ban-E innings was between skipper Shanto and Afif Hossain. Their 99-run partnership for the 4th wicket solidified the home team’s middle order to go big on day 02. Afif Hossain contributed with a crucial 54 runs while scoring 7 boundaries to make SL-E day more miserable before Nishan Peiris finally deceived him with an off spinner.

Despite his partner’s dismissal, skipper Shanto who has already earned his Test cap versus the Blackcaps last year carried on to make a century which lifted his team to a commanding position. His unbeaten 124 was colored with 12 boundaries and a six and SL-E will have a tough time tomorrow in finding a way to make it past his defiance.

Apart from Kalana Perera and Nishan Peiris, the only bowler to have a successful outing was all-rounder Ramesh Mendis who ended with 1-45 after his 17 overs. Ban-E were 233-4 at the stumps and will be raring to go tomorrow to set a huge 1st innings target.

>>Click here for more Cricket News<<

Match drawn

Sri Lanka Emerging Team
244/10 (103.4)
Bangladesh Emerging Team
360/10 (135.4) & 102/4 (43)
Saif Hassan run out (Kalana Perera)18943019.15
Mohammad Naim c Minod Bhanuka b Kalana Perera9820112.50
Najmul Hossain Shanto lbw b Kalana Perera13326913149.44
Yasir Ali c Pathum Nissanka b Ramesh Mendis4300013.33
Afif Hossain b Nishan Peiris541081050.00
Zakir Hasan c Pathum Nissanka b Ramesh Mendis491284038.28
Mahidul Islam Ankon c & b Asitha Fernando4120033.33
Nayeem Hasan c Sangeeth Cooray b Asitha Fernando36724050.00
Yeasin Arafat c & b Ramesh Mendis12451026.67
Tanvir Islam not out16431037.21
Shafiqul Islam b Ramesh Mendis1100010.00
Extras24 (b 6 , lb 14 , nb 4, w 0, pen 0)
Total360/10 (135.4 Overs, RR: 2.65)
Fall of Wickets 1-12 (3.1) Mohammad Naim, 2-81 (31.4) Saif Hassan, 3-95 (41.2) Yasir Ali, 4-194 (72.6) Afif Hossain, 5-249 (93.4) Najmul Hossain Shanto, 6-262 (98.6) Mahidul Islam Ankon, 7-320 (117.5) Zakir Hasan, 8-326 (120.6) Nayeem Hasan, 9-348 (131.6) Yeasin Arafat, 10-360 (135.4) Shafiqul Islam,
Asitha Fernando2537422.96
Kalana Perera2786222.30
Chamika Karunarathne2545502.20
Nishan Peiris3037612.53
Ramesh Mendis28.427342.57
Pathum Nissanka c Yasir Ali b Nayeem Hasan16223072.73
Sangeeth Cooray c Yasir Ali b Nayeem Hasan6160037.50
Charith Asalanka c Mohammad Naim b Nayeem Hasan18342052.94
Minod Bhanuka c Mahidul Islam Ankon b Nayeem Hasan11252044.00
Promod Maduwantha lbw b Tanvir Islam401363029.41
Ashen Bandara c Najmul Hossain Shanto b Shafiqul Islam852568033.20
Ramesh Mendis c Saif Hassan b Shafiqul Islam18442040.91
Chamika Karunarathne b Nayeem Hasan8510015.69
Kalana Perera c Mahidul Islam Ankon b Nayeem Hasan8610133.33
Nishan Peiris b Nayeem Hasan15283053.57
Asitha Fernando not out150020.00
Extras18 (b 11 , lb 6 , nb 1, w 0, pen 0)
Total244/10 (103.4 Overs, RR: 2.35)
Fall of Wickets 1-21 (5.3) Pathum Nissanka, 2-26 (7.3) Sangeeth Cooray, 3-52 (15.2) Minod Bhanuka, 4-59 (17.4) Charith Asalanka, 5-141 (59.2) Promod Maduwantha, 6-170 (74.1) Ramesh Mendis, 7-196 (90.6) Chamika Karunarathne, 8-206 (92.6) Kalana Perera, 9-234 (100.4) Nishan Peiris, 10-244 (103.4) Ashen Bandara,
Yeasin Arafat1642801.75
Shafiqul Islam23.465922.52
Nayeem Hasan40149372.33
Tanvir Islam2274111.86
Afif Hossain21603.00

Saif Hassan not out401130135.40
Mohammad Naim lbw b Nishan Peiris8540014.81
Najmul Hossain Shanto b Asitha Fernando25382265.79
Yasir Ali b Nishan Peiris3110027.27
Afif Hossain c Chamika Karunarathne b Nishan Peiris150020.00
Zakir Hasan not out25373067.57
Extras0 (b 0 , lb 0 , nb 0, w 0, pen 0)
Total102/4 (43 Overs, RR: 2.37)
Fall of Wickets 1-21 (16.2) Mohammad Naim, 2-48 (27.3) Najmul Hossain Shanto, 3-55 (30.5) Yasir Ali, 4-63 (32.2) Afif Hossain,
Asitha Fernando721912.71
Kalana Perera74400.57
Chamika Karunarathne51501.00
Ramesh Mendis631803.00
Nishan Peiris1544332.87
Charith Asalanka301304.33