Home Cricket National Cricket Openers remain unbeaten after Shiraz’s five-fer

Openers remain unbeaten after Shiraz’s five-fer

Bangladesh ‘A’ tour of Sri Lanka 2019 | 2nd Unofficial Test – Day 3

Sri Lanka ‘A’ ended day 3 of the 2nd and last Unofficial Test against the visiting Bangladesh ‘A’ side with a lead of 64 runs today at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota.

>>Mehedy, Mominul sink Sri Lanka-A at Hambantota<<

Bangladesh ‘A’ resumed play today with a lead of 60 runs and went on to add 47 more runs by the end of their innings. Trailing by 107 runs, the Lankan openers made a bold reply with an unbroken partnership of 126 as bad light brought an early end to the day allowing just 54.1 overs for the entire day.

The two Sri Lankan openers, Sangeeth Cooray and Pathum Nissanka continued their golden run in the series as both went on to reach half-centuries. Nissanka was the top-scorer for Sri Lanka in the 1st innings while Cooray amassed a century in the previous game.

Before the solid batting display by Nissanka and Cooray, 24-year old Mohamed Shiraz completed his 3rd first-class 5-wicket haul with the wickets of Bangladeshi lower-order batsmen Rishad Hossain and Ebadot Hossain. He had already dismissed Bangladesh national caps Jahurul Islam, Najmul Hossain and skipper Mominul Haque yesterday.

Apart from Shiraz, left-arm spinner Prabath Jayasuriya too impressed with 3 wickets after bowling 31 overs, the most of the innings. This performance will also help him in ranking himself above fellow left-arm spinner Malinda Pushpakumara who played the previous game and managed to pick just 1 wicket.

Off-spinner Nishan Peiris, who once was in the Sri Lanka Test squad but didn’t play, ended with disappointing figures of 0/41 after just 7 overs falling behind off-spinning all-rounder Ramesh Mendis who picked up 3 wickets in the previous game.

The hosts will now target to add on to their lead and give a go at bowling out the Bangladeshis before the end of play tomorrow to clinch the series 1-0.

>>More Cricket News<<

Match drawn

Sri Lanka A Team
268/10 (90.2) & 357/2 (107)
Bangladesh A
330/10 (83.1)
Pathum Nissanka lbw b Mehidy Hasan8516611051.20
Sangeeth Cooray c Najmul Hossain b Mehidy Hasan17322053.12
Kamindu Mendis c Nurul Hasan b Mehidy Hasan621218151.24
Ashan Priyanjan c Nurul Hasan b Ebadat Hossain28484058.33
Charith Asalanka c Mominul Haque b Salauddin Sakil441008044.00
Priyamal Perera c Mohammad Mithun b Ebadat Hossain4150026.67
Lahiru Udara c Nurul Hasan b Mehidy Hasan20502040.00
Nishan Peiris lbw b Mehidy Hasan02000.00
Prabath Jayasuriya c Rishad Hossain b Mehidy Hasan05000.00
Mohamed Shiraz c Mominul Haque b Mehidy Hasan02000.00
Asitha Fernando not out02000.00
Extras8 (b 0 , lb 6 , nb 1, w 1, pen 0)
Total268/10 (90.2 Overs, RR: 2.97)
Fall of Wickets 1-32 (13.4) Sangeeth Cooray, 2-153 (47.4) Kamindu Mendis, 3-188 (57.3) Pathum Nissanka, 4-217 (66.5) Ashan Priyanjan, 5-221 (70.3) Priyamal Perera, 6-264 (87.1) Lahiru Udara, 7-264 (87.3) Nishan Peiris, 8-268 (89.2) Prabath Jayasuriya, 9-268 (89.4) Mohamed Shiraz, 10-268 (90.2) Charith Asalanka,
Ebadat Hossain2376222.70
Salauddin Sakil17.226013.49
Mehidy Hasan37148472.27
Rishad Hossain1305604.31
Jahurul Islam b Mohamed Shiraz140025.00
Shadman Islam c Sangeeth Cooray b Prabath Jayasuriya771048174.04
Najmul Hossain c Lahiru Udara b Mohamed Shiraz9172052.94
Mominul Haque c Lahiru Udara b Mohamed Shiraz11719015161.58
Mohammad Mithun c Lahiru Udara b Asitha Fernando21362058.33
Anamul Haque c Lahiru Udara b Prabath Jayasuriya8171047.06
Nurul Hasan c Lahiru Udara b Asitha Fernando363132116.13
Mehidy Hasan not out38613162.30
Rishad Hossain c Lahiru Udara b Mohamed Shiraz7340020.59
Salauddin Sakil c Sangeeth Cooray b Prabath Jayasuriya451080.00
Ebadat Hossain b Mohamed Shiraz03000.00
Extras12 (b 4 , lb 4 , nb 3, w 1, pen 0)
Total330/10 (83.1 Overs, RR: 3.97)
Fall of Wickets 1-3 (1.2) Jahurul Islam, 2-22 (5.1) Najmul Hossain, 3-176 (40.1) Shadman Islam, 4-215 (51.5) Mohammad Mithun, 5-230 (56.4) Anamul Haque, 6-270 (63.6) Mominul Haque, 7-285 (67.3) Nurul Hasan, 8-310 (79.4) Rishad Hossain, 9-315 (80.6) Salauddin Sakil, 10-330 (83.1) Ebadat Hossain,
Asitha Fernando1644823.00
Mohamed Shiraz21.166352.99
Nishan Peiris704105.86
Ashan Priyanjan402205.50
Prabath Jayasuriya31311433.68
Charith Asalanka301906.33
Kamindu Mendis1015015.00

Pathum Nissanka run out (Mehidy Hasan)19230720162.54
Sangeeth Cooray c Nurul Hasan b Rishad Hossain8918812047.34
Kamindu Mendis not out671346050.00
Ashan Priyanjan not out5140035.71
Extras4 (b 0 , lb 2 , nb 1, w 1, pen 0)
Total357/2 (107 Overs, RR: 3.34)
Fall of Wickets 1-219 (62.3) Sangeeth Cooray, 2-351 (103.4) Pathum Nissanka,
Ebadat Hossain2126002.86
Mehidy Hasan37511803.19
Salauddin Sakil2247903.59
Rishad Hossain2327813.39
Mohammad Mithun10808.00
Mominul Haque301204.00