Home Cricket Schools Cricket Moditha, Janidu rescue act earns Ananda a draw

Moditha, Janidu rescue act earns Ananda a draw

90th Battle of the Maroons – Day 02


90th Battle of the Maroons has ended in yet another draw for the 16th consecutive time today at the Sinhalese Sports Club ground. The historic clash for the Dr. N.M. Perera Memorial Challenge Trophy between two prominent schools in Sri Lanka commenced yesterday with many celebrated old boys from each school, Sri Lankan Cricket stalwarts Arjuna Ranatunga & Bandula Warnapura as chief guests.

Nalandians came to the field today dreaming of a win after the first day heroics by Avishka Perera with the bat and Dineth Samaraweera with the ball. But Moditha Ranathunga & Janidu Jayawardene had other ideas.

Read More: Avishka and Dineth thrust Nalanda into command

Ananda College was 52/4 when they started second day, trailing 217 with only 6 wickets in hands and lost overnight batsman Daminda Reshan quickly after the start of the second days play.

Moditha Ranathunga and Kalana Wijesiri duo performed a well-orchestrated recovery act to guide Ananda from the danger zone. Wijesiri made a quick fire 39 with 6 fours before departing off Chamindu Wijesinghe’s bowling.

Then, Ranathunga was accompanied by all-rounder Janidu Jayawardene to put up an excellent partnership to guide Ananda College past 200 runs. Both of them scored half centuries as the Nalanda bowlers were made to toil searching for that 7th wicket.

Photo Album: Ananda College vs Nalanda College – Battle of the Maroons | Day 2

Moditha Ranathunga departed for a well-made 64 as Dineth Samaraweera snatched his fourth wicket. After his wicket Nalanda bowlers quickly wrapped things up securing a thin 37 runs 1st innings lead. Jayawardene was unbeaten at the end with 63 runs to his name.

With a win not in their reach, Nalanda openers came to bat and started to wag around. 1st innings centurion Avishka Perera was run out when he was on 20 and opener Dilhara Polgampola failed again to secure a big score to his name.

Watch – 90th Battle of the Maroons

After the opener’s dismissals skipper Lakshitha Manasinghe & talented all-rounder Chamindu Wijesinghe put a batting show at SSC as they scored rapidly with boundaries all over the ground.

Both looked comfortable at the crease and scored fifties in no time. Captain was finally dismissed for 87 by Gishan Edirisinghe and Wijesinghe ended up piling a run-a-ball 64.

Nalanda College was 216/5 when match officials called quits for the day as the 90th Battle of the Maroons ended in another draw.

  • Match Awards

Best Batsman – Avishka Perera (Nalanda College)

Best Bowler – Dineth Samaraweera (Nalanda College)

Best Fielder – Kamesh Nirmal (Ananda College)

Player of the Match – Avishka Perera (Nalanda College)

Match drawn

Ananda College
232/10 (60.2)
Nalanda College
269/7 (72.1) & 216/5 (41.2)
Avishka Perera b Saviru Bandara12013417089.55
Thanushka Dilhara Polgampola lbw b Saviru Bandara22612036.07
Ranindu C de Silva c Kalana Sulakkana Wijesiri b Sudeepa Agulugaha16572028.07
Lakshitha Rasanjana Manasinghe b Chamika Deemantha Gunasekara16372043.24
Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe c Adeesha Perera b Chamika Deemantha Gunasekara27613044.26
Raveen A de Silva c Sudeepa Agulugaha b Janindu Jayaweera36673153.73
Mahima Weerakoon c Kamesh Nirmal b Dasun Tharaka151330115.38
Moksha Sankalpa not out6610100.00
Extras11 (b 0 , lb 9 , nb 1, w 1)
Total269/7 (72.1 Overs, RR: 3.73)
Adeesha Perera8.012403.00
Dasun Tharaka9.023113.44
Chamika Deemantha Gunasekara16.034622.88
Saviru Bandara19.036623.47
J Jayawardene14.117415.25
Sudeepa Agulugaha6.011913.17
Sudeepa Agulugaha c Thanushka Dilhara Polgampola b Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe14232060.87
Dasun Tharaka b Dineth Samaraweera07000.00
Kamesh Nirmal b Dineth Samaraweera571071.43
Kanishka Rantilakage c Raveen A de Silva b Dineth Samaraweera8620133.33
Moditha Ranathunga lbw b Dineth Samaraweera641088059.26
Daminda Reshan c Lakshitha Rasanjana Manasinghe b Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe17323053.12
Kalana Sulakkana Wijesiri c Lakshitha Rasanjana Manasinghe b Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe39426092.86
J Jayawardene not out631038061.17
Adeesha Perera c Thanushka Dilhara Polgampola b Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe3100030.00
Chamika Deemantha Gunasekara b Raveen A de Silva10251040.00
Saviru Bandara b Raveen A de Silva01000.00
Extras9 (b 0 , lb 4 , nb 4, w 1)
Total232/10 (60.2 Overs, RR: 3.85)
Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe15.025833.87
Dineth Samaraweera18.016343.50
Lakshitha Rasanjana Manasinghe8.013113.88
Kaveesh Madurapperuma6.003205.33
Mahima Weerakoon8.011702.12
Jithesh Wasala2.001105.50
Raveen A de Silva3.201625.00
Thanushka Dilhara Polgampola c Kamesh Nirmal b Adeesha Perera16283057.14
Avishka Perera run out20214095.24
Lakshitha Rasanjana Manasinghe b Gishan Vishwajith Edirisinghe871039184.47
Chamindu Piyumal Wijesinghe run out6463100101.59
Moksha Sankalpa run out20333060.61
Raveen A de Silva not out00000.00
Extras9 (b 3 , lb 6 , nb 0, w 0)
Total216/5 (41.2 Overs, RR: 5.23)
Chamika Deemantha Gunasekara9.212312.50
Dasun Tharaka4.002706.75
Saviru Bandara14.006404.57
Adeesha Perera6.011913.17
J Jayawardene5.001703.40
Sudeepa Agulugaha3.0030010.00